Amber Skye Forbes

Writing Words With the Tips of My Toes

The Journey of Finding a New Home: Part Two

Frankly, there isn’t much to report on this end; however, I did receive another full request from Clean Teen Publishing. Bookfish is still reading over my manuscript, but I’m heavily leaning toward Clean Teen, as they are more established, have a bigger catalogue of books, impressive covers, a strong staff, and a beautiful website. In fact, when I subbed to them, I heard back from them the same day, most likely due to a tip from an author I  know who was accepted by them. I’m very excited. Two fulls from two houses is a big deal. I’ll also starting working on second revisions for a book I plan to submit to Harmony Ink Press, one I think will be ready after these final revisions–and proofreads and all that junk.

I just can’t wait to hear back. My gut says at least one of them will want it. It’d be great if both could offer me a contract. Then I could read over both and choose the best one.

In any case, I think it’d be interesting to write about why I’m still continuing with small presses, despite their fold rate.

  1. I like small presses. This is a no-brainer. You’re closer to its publishing staff and authors. You can support one another.
  2. The wait times aren’t ungodly. It should take about 6-8 weeks for me to hear back, but Clean Teen could be sooner, as my tipped-author seemed to have received representation in less time. I know I sent off to Bookfish sooner than she likely sent off to Clean Teen, as she was still working on preparations by the time I was done. But finding an agent? It could take a year. Then you’re still waiting to find a publisher. I have an author friend with a lit agent. Her book still hasn’t found a home. Personally, I’d dump the agent and either self-publish or go the small press route. I know another too who’s book is still floating around after five years. I wonder if she dumped her agent?
  3. You can still become a bestseller. Just as you can become a bestseller in the traditional market, you can become one as a small press author. It’s rare, just like bestsellers among the big leagues, but it does happen.
  4. More control. You can help in the final decision for a cover and edits. The big houses offer no such deals. You have to gently argue with them about edits.
  5. Less stressed. You aren’t pressed for time like you are with the big leagues.
  6. Better chances of being accepted. It’s not any easier, but small presses are open to a variety of books big leagues are tired off, like paranormal books. So small presses are far more willing to give done-trend books a chance.
  7. Support. I want to support small presses because they can change the face of the industry and allow more authors access to their dreams. Small presses are usually very friendly and inviting. There is full transparency.
  8. Royalties. Your royalties are bigger, sometimes taking the place of an advance. Some presses offer advances, but your royalties are still higher than big-press books. When I was with AEC, I earned a little over a dollar per book and about 3 for print. That is SUPER good.
  9. They’re more willing to give folded books a chance. The publishers who have accepted my full know I’ve been published before; yet, they are willing to give it a chance. Agents wouldn’t do this. Not even medium-sized publishers would do this.
4 comments on “The Journey of Finding a New Home: Part Two

  1. Stephanie
    February 13, 2015

    Yay! I’m so excited for you.
    So, if you don’t mind me asking, what is this great tip you know about the Clean Teen quary process?

    • amberskyef
      February 13, 2015

      They want a query letter and the first 15 pages of your manuscript, if I recall correctly. But, again, I think the only reason they got back to me so fast is because of the nod I was given, so I was prioritized. If you submit to them, it could take 2-3 weeks.

  2. Shay Dee
    February 14, 2015

    Wow that’s nuts! A wait time of five years? I’d hate that…
    Though I wonder what went wrong, or more, how come those two authors only have ONE book floating around for five years? In five years wouldn’t those authors write other books?

    • amberskyef
      February 14, 2015

      One has self-published a lot of books and is successful at doing so. The other, I think, is way too busy with college.

Leave a Reply

