Amber Skye Forbes

Writing Words With the Tips of My Toes

Writing While Struggling With Depression

magical girl

Or fight like a magical girl or boy to overcome your struggles. You don’t want to make a contract with that little guy. He’ll eventually bring you nothing but despair until you reach a point where you’ll want to die.

I might be blogging every day. Since this blog is about mental illness and the GSM community, I figure all of my posts will fit with mental illness.

I don’t have the heart to work on content edits for The Stars Are Infinite. I don’t know why. The only reason I was able to even finish TSAI during a depressive episode last year is because geography was the most boring class I’ve ever taken, and I would have rather been doing anything else than stewing in my depressive thoughts. But TSAI just doesn’t resonate with what I’m feeling right now. Yes it’s a dark book. Yes one of the characters does struggle with an undiagnosed mental illness. However, that character is not my POV character. My POV character doesn’t struggle with mental illness. She fights against dark thoughts. She’s a fighter in general with a strong sense of justice. I can’t relate to that right now.

I can’t feel bad about not doing content edits. After all, Libba Bray often misses deadlines because of her depression, yet she still has her literary agent and still gets published. She struggles with writing because of her depression. She can’t seem to get things right because of her depression. I just hope that those who have read When Stars Die know these things about me. I hope they’ll forgive me for the publication of the sequel having to be delayed. I feel like the best thing for me to do is to start revisions on The Glorious In-Between, as a lot of the content in the book resonates with me. I feel like I’ll be able to do well with the revisions due to my current feelings.

Even so, it sucks that I feel like I have this inability to work on TSAI. I wanted the book to come out at the end of this year, but I have no clue how possible that is. I can’t say it’s impossible to work on TSAI; it’s just hard. Maybe I can try tomorrow. Maybe all I need is encouragement from someone, from somewhere. Maybe all I need is someone to tell me that I can do it. I have all the edits I need to make before me, all the comments to guide me in making this book better. I just have to do them. That’s all.

It’s so, so, so difficult though, when all I want to do is stay in the comfort of my bed and do things that require nothing from my mind.

Robin Williams’ death allowed me to write the ending to The Glorious In-Between. I desperately needed those feelings in order to understand how my character is supposed to feel at the end–as it pertains to who she is, of course. Even though I’ve struggled with depression on and off for two years, it’s not always easy to grab on to those feelings during stable moments.

Writing in this blog is comforting for me. I have people on Tumblr encouraging me to get well. I’m still writing posts that will help them. I’m still writing promotional posts on Tumblr every so often. I’m building my Twitter platform by finding the right people. I’m still trying to build my e-mail list. Those things don’t take as much energy as writing does, even though for many authors it does.

I want to work on The Glorious In-Between. My depressive feelings are right for it. I hope Mariah Wilson reads this so that way I know what I should do. I don’t know what the right thing to do is as far as my writing concerns. TSAI is supposed to be my priority. I know this. I’m on page 167 out of 365, and all of that occurred within 3.5 days. Perhaps I should get back to it, but the last five chapters really took brain power to edit. I have a feeling content edits are going to get more difficult.

Is there anyone who can guide me in the right direction?

5 comments on “Writing While Struggling With Depression

  1. Mariah E. Wilson
    August 25, 2014

    Mariah Wilson did read this and she’s going to message you on Facebook momentarily. ((HUGS))

  2. rosemontague
    August 25, 2014

    I can only tell you what has worked for me. Whenever I face a series of tasks that seem overwhelming I have learned to do the hardest, most distasteful, and dreaded one first. The rest seem to become easy after that. HUGS as well and keep writing.

  3. TrevorG
    August 25, 2014

    I believe in you and your work! I know you can do it! Take all the time you need, I can’t speak for anyone else but I will always be a HUGE fan! Your blog, your newsletter -and the second I can afford it- your book are an inspiration for me. You’re the best, please feel better soon, not for me or any of your other fans, but so you can bask in the warm glow of your very own greatness.
    Keep up the great work, I know you can do it!

  4. Dianna L. Gunn
    August 25, 2014

    I don’t know if I can point you in the right direction, but I will say that I know you can push through these content edits. Maybe you’ll come in behind schedule but you can definitely do it. I believe in you, and I know I’m speaking for all your readers when I say that.

  5. litebeing
    August 29, 2014

    In honor of Ajay, please celebrate Xmas in August:
    http://litebeing.com/2014/08/29/awards-xmas-bouquet-in-august-ajay-style/

Leave a Reply

