Amber Skye Forbes

Writing Words With the Tips of My Toes

Interview With Pete Clark, Author of ‘Midnight Riders’

Unknown

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself and your book.

Well I am a teacher of English Lit. I love history, animals and bizarre comedy. My book is set during the early days of America. The French and Indian war and the American Revolution specifically. I use a lot of real history but add in a bunch of supernatural creatures as well as a historical mystery, cool characters and a ton of obnoxious comedy.

2. Where did you get the idea for Midnight Riders?

I have always been into the time period as well as comedy and supernatural creatures. I’d figured why not write a book that has all three. Also my father in law is a fan of the time period as well. We were having a discussion of the unappreciated heroes of the time and I figured I would write something that showcased some of them.

3. What made you want to put a twist on the American Revolution?

It is a time period that I have always been fascinated by and I figured a good way to try and make in accessible to people who may not be as interested in it as me would be to update it with and exciting story and a ton of interesting creatures.

4. What is your favorite period in history?

Certainly early America is up there. I am also quite interested in the middle ages. Particularly in Europe and early Greek history. Battle of Thermopylae era.

5. When did you know that you wanted to be an author?

Not sure when I wanted to be an author. But I have always been interested in writing and telling stories of all kinds. I wrote short skits for my family when I was maybe five. Then I was into writing terrible adventure stories a few years after that in which I murdered off my friends. Good times.

6. Who are your favorite authors? Your favorite books?

Favorite authors and books are tough. As soon as I send this I am sure to think of a million others. Fav author for sure is Ray Bradbury. But there are so many that I love. Matheson, Gaiman, Salinger, Keats, Big Willy Shakes- the list rambles on. For favorite books at this second I can think of: Dandelion Wine and Fahrenheit 451 by Bradbury, I am Legend by Matheson, Neverwhere and Graveyard book by Gaiman, Less Than Zero by Brett Easton Ellis, The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold, Lamb by Christopher Moore, Catch 22 by Joseph Heller, Watership Down by Richard Adams and about a hundred more. This list has gotten out of control.
7. What are you working on right now?
A bunch of things. I have a few books recently finished. One fantasy and another strange book. This one mixes literature with monsters. Also I have a few group projects that I am working with my publisher on. A short story collection and another dozen or so projects in various stages of completion.

8. Anything else you’d like to add?

Just that I would like to thank you and Mariah for the contest. And of course Michael Bray for designing my cover. If anyone is interested in history, comedy and the supernatural then I really think they would enjoy Midnight Riders.

Bio: Pete Clark likes writing, animals, potato chips, and cheese. Midnight Riders is his first published novel, although he can also proudly say he finally finished Helix Crashing, the fantasy novel he has been working on for over a decade. In addition, he has written a wide variety of short stories across a number of genres. He also writes plays, both dramatic and comedic. When he is not writing, Pete tends to ignore everyone around him and obsess over sports.

***Links***

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Midnight-Riders-ebook/dp/B00ESV9QKC/ref=la_B00D2PL0ZY_1_3_title_0_main?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1377637458&sr=1-3
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Midnight-Riders-ebook/dp/B00ESV9QKC/ref=la_B00D2PL0ZY_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1377637587&sr=1-3
Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/348779
Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/midnight-riders-pete-clark/1116599473?ean=9781492161769
Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/midnight-riders-1
Apple: https://itunes.apple.com/no/book/midnight-riders/id690328671?mt=11
Paperback: https://www.createspace.com/4402809

Leave a Reply

