Amber Skye Forbes

Writing Words With the Tips of My Toes

Editing Cave

For the next week or two, I am going to be in my editing cave, so I likely won’t be posting that often. If I do post, it will be much later at night.

I have finished the re-writes of When Heaven Was Blue (the new title), and it currently stands at 80,000 words. I am going to let this book stew for several weeks before getting to line edits with it, and once line edits are done, I will be passing it off to a beta reader. I am also toying with the idea of getting a freelance editor for it simply because it is a book with a lot of literary elements, and so it’s really my first time doing a book like this. But I’ll just have to see how I feel after line edits (or proofreading, for that matter).

I have also outlined a short story for a secret project that is being done. So I will be working on that as well.

But I have received some edits for When Stars Die, so that is where I am going to be at. I just want to mention that I hate writing action scenes, and so therefore my suckery for action scenes has warranted me a diagnosis: suckeritis de action scene. I don’t even really like reading action scenes because I am all about emotions and imagery, and actions scenes can’t contain too much of that or else they get bogged down. But I know for a lot of non-contemporary books, action scenes are inevitable, so I put up with them. And look how many times I have written action scenes. There, I’ve just written it again. Action scenes. Action scenes. Action scenes.

Does anybody have a prescription for action scenes?

Well, I will be reading it aloud and making changes. So wish me luck.

 

5 comments on “Editing Cave

  1. erickeys
    July 16, 2013

    Good luck!

    And remember… As sucky as it gets, writing is better than not writing.

  2. theturtlewriter
    July 16, 2013

    Best wishes with your editing!

    Side note, “Editing Cave” is a great phrase. I may have to start using it. 🙂

  3. cnmill
    July 17, 2013

    Good luck with your editing!
    I also thought EDITING CAVE was amazing.

    And also . . . me and action scenes? Yep. We don’t mesh very well either. Which, you’re totally right – writing non-contemporary, they’re not only inevitable . . . they’re inescapable.
    I wish you luck with those as well, and I hope you find yourself having an easier time with them than you have been. I feel your frustration, for sure.

    I guess the prescription for them is to just figure out a way to get past them. Then maybe work on tweaking them in the edits? That’s all I can manage to do where they’re concerned.

    • amberskyef
      July 17, 2013

      They are inescapable! I actually have more action scenes in my contemporary fantasy than I do in When Stars Die, so I’m going to be in for a boatload of fun once I get to line edits.

      And I’m going to have to completely re-write the chapter with the epic action scene. You should see how marked up it is, lol.

  4. Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too. This sort
    of clever work and coverage! Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve included you guys to my own blogroll.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , .
